Beyond

MEDA101

Area 44 – My soundscape represents the spatial and perceptual potential of everyday acoustic sounds along the Princes Highway of Fairy Meadow. I designed my soundscape to capture the predictability of sounds ranging from urban design to wildlife. However, in my soundscape these sounds appear distorted and stretched in comparison to the perceived predictability of sounds. The constant flow of traffic along the highway and the continual buzz of humanity inspired the atmosphere for the development of my soundscape. Expected sounds such as the low hum of people talking and the flow of water all appear in my soundscape, however they become unpredictable when manually slowed down and stretched. It is through these methods that I wished to capture the potential of natural sounds and human induced sounds so that they represented the way in which humanity ignores the depth of prominent sounds around them.

Leave a Reply

